BCMCL Pre-season T20 (sponsored by Salim Akbar Cricket Club) 1st Division finals were played on Sunday March 16th between Pakcan CC and Newton Surrey CC. Pakcan won the toss and elected to bat first. Surrey Newton bowlers bowled really well and also there good fielding (3 Run outs) kept Pakcan CC to all out for 122 runs. Gagandeep Singh, Lovjeet brar, Gurjeet Aulakh and Kunal Grover bowled well to give 123 runs target to win. Mazhar Hayat scored 18 runs), Taimoor Tariq 23 runs, Javed Babar scored 25 runs for Pakcan CC.

123 runs target seems to be easy target for Newton Surrey strong batting line up, however Pakcan bowlers had other plans. Good bowling by Zeeshan Wahla and Salman Rana who took 3 wickets each, and some brilliant fielding by Pakcan especially Hassan Mailk (run out an two catch), Newton Surrey couldn’t survive against Pakcan bowling attack and consistently kept loosing wickets, and got all out on 74 runs. Pakcan won by 48 runs and won first Annual Salim Akbar/ Anwar Wadood Khan Trophy.

Second division final was also played on Sunday between Surrey Stars and Pakcan II. It was one of the most interesting game and Pakcan II won by 1 run. Nithin Sondhi scored 66 runs for Pakcan and they got all out for 123 runs. Andy Sul took 5 wickets for 7 runs.

Surrey Stars didn’t had a good start however later in innings Inamul Desai (26 runs) and Dav Gill (44 runs) took the game close and Surrey stars needed 8 runs to win from last over , however only managed to get 6 runs.

Taslim Akabar, Nasim Akbar, Laila Akbar and Harjit Sandhu presented the winning Salim Akbar memorial trophy to Pakcan CC with $700 WINNING Cash prize for first division, $500 for second division. BCMCL Preseaseason T20 (sponsored by Salim Akbar CC in memory of Salim Akbar/Wadood Khan) was very successful event and it was very good start to 2016 season. BCMCL wish good luck to all players for 2016 season and we look forward to lots more special events for 2016 season.

Next big event for BCMCL be Legends Memorial T10 Cricket tournament, which going to be held on May 23rd (Victoria Day).


Harjit Sandhu